President Ramaphosa’s New Cabinet: Mixed Reactions and Full List


JOHANNESBURG – President Cyril Ramaphosa’s recently announced Cabinet has sparked a variety of reactions. While some praise the inclusivity, others criticize its size and cost.

Opposition Reactions

Criticism from ActionSA

ActionSA has criticized the president for not reducing the executive’s size, as initially promised. Parliamentary leader Athol Trollip expressed concerns about the Cabinet’s expansion, questioning the necessity of additional perks for ministers.

Economic Freedom Fighters’ Stance

The EFF accused the Government of National Unity (GNU) of being a façade for the ANC to align with the Democratic Alliance (DA). They labeled the Cabinet as bloated and a strain on taxpayers.

Build One South Africa’s Viewpoint

BOSA opposes using Cabinet positions for patronage and calls for reducing MPs’ perks, emphasizing the Cabinet’s unprecedented size in democratic South Africa.

Rise Mzansi’s Optimism

In contrast, Rise Mzansi welcomed the announcement and committed to holding the executive accountable, ensuring integrity and constitutional adherence.

The New Cabinet Members

Key Figures

  • Deputy President: Paul Mashatile
  • Minister of Agriculture: John Steenhuisen
  • Minister of Defence and Military Veterans: Angie Motshekga
  • Minister of Electricity and Energy: Kgosientsho Ramokgopa
  • Minister of Health: Aaron Motsoaledi

Full List of Cabinet Members

PositionMinisterDeputy Minister(s)
Deputy PresidentPaul Mashatile
Minister of AgricultureJohn SteenhuisenRosemary Nokuzola Capa
Minister of Defence and Military VeteransAngie MotshekgaBantu Holomisa, Richard Mkhungo
Minister of Electricity and EnergyKgosientsho RamokgopaSamantha Graham
Minister of HealthAaron MotsoalediJoe Phaahla
Minister of Higher EducationNobuhle NkabaneButi Manamela, Mimmy Gondwe
Minister of Home AffairsLeon SchreiberNjabulo Nzuza
Minister of Human SettlementsMmamoloko KubayiTandi Mahambehlala
Minister of International Relations and CooperationRonald LamolaAlvin Botes, Tandi Moraka
Minister of Justice and Constitutional DevelopmentThembi NkadimengAndries Nel
Minister of Mineral and Petroleum ResourcesGwede MantasheJudith Nemadzinga-Tshabalala
Minister of Planning, Monitoring and EvaluationMaropene RamokgopaSeiso Mohai
Minister of PoliceSenzo MchunuPolly Boshielo, Cassel Mathale
Minister in the PresidencyKhumbudzo NtshavheniNonceba Mhlauli, Kenneth Morolong
Minister of Public Service and AdministrationMzamo ButheleziPinky Kekana
Minister of Public Works and InfrastructureDean MacphersonSihle Zikalala
Minister of Small Business DevelopmentStella Ndabeni-AbrahamsJane Sithole
Minister of Social DevelopmentSisisi TolasheGanief Hendricks
Minister of Sport, Arts and CultureGayton McKenziePeace Mabe
Minister of TourismPatricia De LilleMaggie Sotyu
Minister of Trade, Industry and CompetitionParks TauZuko Godlimpi, Andrew Whitfield
Minister of TransportBarbara CreecyMkhuleko Hlengwa
Minister of Water and SanitationPemmy MajodinaDavid Mahlobo, Isaac Seitlholo
Minister of Women, Youth and Persons with DisabilitiesSindisiwe ChikungaMmapaseka Steve Letsike
Minister of Correctional ServicesPieter GroenewaldLindiwe Ntshalintshali


The newly formed Cabinet aims to reflect national unity and inclusivity, though its increased size has drawn significant criticism. The nation watches closely as these leaders embark on their new roles.

For more details, you can refer to the full list and further insights here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *